Freelancer

I’ve shucked entrepreneur and am empowered by hustler. It’s only that I’ve grown accustomed to the disorientation of the grind; submitted to the fact that I’ll never know where I will be from day to day. To live the life of a freelancer is to beat around like a Blue Note cover, complete with the lilts and tilts of a soft jazz flute. No day is ever the same and I’ve given up trying to make it averagely 9-5. This song fits me quite well. It’s unpredictable in the way that there isn’t a clear melody or key. All the same it is true to its genre–jazz–and is ever only consistent in its inconsistency. Listen closely to the trilling peaks from which echo cries of unbelievable highs. See how still it drones on? Sometimes so bland the tune breaks over itself like tiny little waves crashing into a mountain of monotony. The individual notes from far away can all sound like tones exactly the same.  This is what I am. This is what I’ve become. An erratic, complicated and ever so boring Blue Note cover.

 

Leave a comment